Menu

Uber and Lyft Insurance Coverage

Under California law, rideshare companies must carry at least $1 million in insurance coverage for injuries and accidents their drivers cause.


Uber and Lyft Insurance Coverage

Uber and Lyft drivers must be at least 21 years old and submit to criminal and background checks prior to being hired. Drivers who demonstrate unsafe behavior or are involved in repeated accidents should no longer be able to drive for Uber or Lyft; however, Uber and Lyft accidents continue to occur due to driver negligence, and it is important for passengers injured in an Uber or Lyft accident to know their rights and the steps that need to be taken to receive appropriate payment for any injuries or other losses sustained.

Uber and Lyft drivers are required to carry their state’s mandated minimum car insurance, which often covers injuries of passengers in the event of a car accident. In addition to the driver’s insurance, rideshare companies, such as Uber and Lyft, also carry their own insurance policies in the event one of their drivers is involved in an accident.

Uber Lawsuit - Uber Assault and Uber Accident Lawsuits

Under California law, Uber and Lyft are required to carry $1 million in insurance coverage for Uber accidents and Lyft accidents that result in personal injury, death or property damage caused by the Uber or Lyft driver.  If you or someone you know has been injured in an Uber of Lyft car accident, our Uber and Lyft accident attorneys can help you navigate your potential insurance claims. First, you need to know which policy you are making the claim under – your personal insurance, the driver’s insurance, Uber’s or Lyft’s insurance policy, or a combination thereof. To make a claim against Uber’s or Lyft’s insurance policy, an Uber or Lyft accident attorney will assist you in contacting the claims adjuster, handling disputes over any damages or medical bills, and deciding whether Uber’s or Lyft’s insurance coverage is sufficient to cover your injuries or losses.

As the number of ridesharing drivers increases, so do the number of Uber and Lyft accidents. It’s important to understand how you may be covered by insurance when you are a passenger in an Uber or Lyft accident, and when you should make a claim for personal injury. Levin Simes Abrams has and will continue to stay at the forefront of rideshare litigation, including insurance and personal injury claims against Uber and Lyft. If you or someone you know has been involved in a car accident or other injury by a negligent Uber or Lyft driver, contact us at 415-501-9625 to speak with an Uber injury lawyer or Lyft injury lawyer.